top of page

Answered Prayers

Our son, Silas Jay Morton was born August 25, 2017

We chose the name Silas after the Acts 16 story of Paul and Silas. While they were in prison, they still sang praises to the Lord and He opened the doors and set them free! We prayed for a long time for a child and we sang praises to God through it. Then suddenly the Lord opened the doors wide and answered our prayers!

God has so woven our story together so beautifully. Both our sons have been 'relative adoptions', my nephew's- from my younger brother. They are technically half-brothers, but not according to Aiden! To him they are blood bothers, through and through- and I wholeheartedly agree. After I felt called to post about my infertility and desire for more children, Silas' birth mom messaged me, she was already 6 months pregnant and wanted to provide a good home for the baby through adoption, and loved the idea of family adoption. Honestly I can't explain it except that God put it all together, every moment of his birth and placement with us was bathed in God's presence and peace- it could not have gone smoother. I'm so glad we waited for God's timing for this child- I felt strongly that I was not to try and make it happen myself, and my husband was so helpful to wait and trust God's timing.

My brother and his girlfriend knew they were not in a position to raise a child, and bravely and selflessly chose a different path for their precious baby boy. We are blessed to have a wonderful open adoption, I send photos and videos often and we’re hoping to have a visit shortly. I am forever grateful and blessed by the brave love Silas’ birth parents showed- they are amazing and are to be celebrated! Silas will grow up knowing their love for him and the amazing way they choose his well bearing over their hearts from the first moment. Adoption is not for every birth situation, but when it is chosen, I truly believe God redeems it and makes it beautiful and whole.

Another amazing thing- once we knew about Silas I asked God why, why both boys from my brother? And I felt him answer, "Your Dad prayed for this. For his children, and his children's children to be kept in our family and raised knowing the Lord." That amazed me and made so much sense! My Dad passed away when I was 11 years old but he was always praying over us and our family line. How amazing that God answered his prayers, many years later, through me and my husband! Both boys have stayed in our family, and would have otherwise been lost to us, and we are able to raise them to know and love the Lord- praise God!

On March 30th, on a very good, Good Friday, we finalized Silas' adoption with the State of Maryland! Thank you to our friends and family for being there for us on our special day, and for all who have supported, prayed, and cared for us during this process. We are forever grateful to be a family and for our sweet boys.

These amazing photos were captured by the ever talented and kind Kelly DeGraff of JK DeGraff Photography. Kelly graciously came to the court house and documented the whole process! What a blessing!

‘Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.’ (Ephesians 3:20)

Blessings and Joy!

-Anna


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page